Social Media Consultants

I came across this Q&A on LinkedIn asking “Are There Already Too Many Social Media Consultants?” and it got me thinking about the big picture of Social Media Consulting. Personally, I have been doing it “officially” for over 4 years now. First in an agency setting at an Internet Marketing & Web Development firm in NJ and then independently.  Unofficially, I have been coaching Socializing and Marketing on the Web for over 10 years.

Do you think with all the attention drawn to Social Media these days, that there are too many Social Media Consultants who have come out of the woodwork? Take my poll & let me know your thoughts!

4 thoughts on “Social Media Consultants

  1. I believe Social Media is heading the way SEO has over the past few years a.k.a Something Everyone Offers. It seems every independent consultant, ad agency and their mother is offering Social Media Optimization or Consulting.

    • Justin,

      First of all, thanks for commenting. It means a lot to know you’re reading my little blog here. Secondly, I’m glad we agree. Social Media Consulting has really come of age in the past couple of years. When I first started consulting with businesses on how to use the web to promote their businesses (in the mid/late 90s), it was almost unheard of. I was basically helping them set up domains, create one-page (maybe 2 page) websites, and helping them find customers online by submitting their site to AOL and getting on mailing lists & chat rooms. How times have changed! In a blinding fashion, too.

      Now, over 10 years later, it has become big business to help others create an online presence and (hopefully) find business online. I’m not complaining by any stretch of the imagination (I make money doing this), but I often wonder about the so-called Social Media Consultants. I know there’s been blog posts written about “how to select a social media consultant”. I won’t rehash that, but I think anybody (these days) with an Internet connection could (crazy as it sounds) become a Social Media consultant. With little, to no, experience. Scary.

  2. I would have to agree with the thought that the field is starting to get crowded. It seems that any one with a large follower list via Twitter/Facebook feels that they can call themselves an expert. Or many agencies ad social media services because they are following the trend. The thought on their part is “how hard can it be”. It would be great if a more widely adopted certification process was available to weed out who was legit or not.

    • Thanks for the response! Gauging one’s online success in terms of Social Media (only) sets a bad precedent. Unfortunately, due to the amplification of SM & mobile as viable marketing channels, it has drown out other online marketing. Like *gasp* having an optimized, mobile-friendly website. Websites are not going anywhere any time soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

